UKC

Fort William or Inverness

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 UrsulaH 07 Nov 2023

Hi all

I've been climbing for a few years and I'm just starting out on getting 'QMDs' (quality mountain days) logged so that I can do Mountain Leader Training. 

I'm hoping to work remotely this summer (May - July) somewhere near to mountains and am thinking about either Fort William or Inverness. I'll be working online 9-5 Monday to Friday but hoping to use some annual leave while there and keeping my fingers crossed that I'll get to know people at local climbing walls and through clubs etc

I've only passed through Fort William and haven't been to Inverness at all, so wondered what people's thoughts are - which is best for getting out for trad, sport climbing and bouldering, walking and long mountain routes? And which will be best for meeting people to climb with and generally being a nice place to live

Thanks! Ursula

Doug 07 Nov 2023
In reply to UrsulaH:

Never lived in either but at various times both have been my nearest 'big town' (by Highland standards). If I had to choose one I'd go for Inverness - easier connections southwards, quick access to the NW,  the weather tends to be drier and it somehow seems more pleasant.

Fiona Reid 07 Nov 2023
In reply to UrsulaH:

I live 15 mins from Inverness but also spend a lot of time in Fort William.

Will you have a car? That might make the decision for you.  From Fort William there's loads of hills you can get to with minimal driving or on public transport. From Inverness you'll definitely need a car and you'll drive a bit further - but still loads possible within a 45-60 min drive. 

Both now have a decent climbing wall. 

Fort William probably has more easily accessible trad but once the midge come out places like Polldubh could be unpleasant. There's sport climbing within about 45 mins of Fort William.