UKC

QMDs - when are they "away from marked paths"?

Please Register as a New User in order to reply to this topic.
 Patrick1 05 Mar 2024

Sorry, I know that the definition of QMDs for Mountain Leader is often debated. But I'd really appreciate some guidance on what constitutes "navigation skills are required" - particularly since some online resources seem to add the comment "away from marked paths". I've got about 30 years of hillwalking experience, mostly in Scotland - I live in the Highlands. However, looking back at what I've done that might count as a "QMD" the most common stumbling block I'm finding is that I'm rarely doing any of the walk entirely off any sort of path. Am I right to exclude any day where I didn't do a significant proportion of the walk "off path"? That would, for example, exclude essentially all of the 40 or so munros I've done - while many don't have paths up them marked on the OS maps, there's almost always a path apparent either on open source mapping or in a guidebook, and there's pretty much invariably one on the ground. Does that mean none of these walks would count? While I could plan some walks which include significant path-free sections it will be a bit token - I'm afraid even the Highlands are well walked enough that if its worth walking to there will often be at least some sort of path on the ground leading there. And that's before I even begin to look at some more popular walking areas such as the Lakes. Am I missing something here?

jonny taylor 05 Mar 2024
In reply to Patrick1:

I don't have a definitive answer for you, but to me a "marked path" has waymarkers, e.g. West Highland Way.

Summit Else 05 Mar 2024
In reply to Patrick1:

Don't overthink it.  Paths are OK, tourist tracks less so.

The official QMD  definition has recently been updated and the new definition doesn't mention marked paths:
https://www.mountain-training.org/latest-news/quality-day-definitions-updat...