UKC

Good books/videos on ropework

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Madajo 11 Apr 2020

I think I've got the right forum for this, please correct me if not. 

Since I've got so much time spare I'm looking at getting a book in that has some good, current information on rope-work for climbing, so I'll be more efficient when I get back out. I'd particularly like some coverage on self-rescue since I think I'd like to be doing more multi-pitch climbing soon. Ideally I'd like to do a course on self-rescue but I'll settle for self-taught basics for now. 

Does anyone have any video/book recommendations that cover the rope aspects of climbing?

finc00 11 Apr 2020
In reply to Madajo:

Its possibly slightly dated now, but Nigel Sheperds "Complete Guide to Modern Rope Techniques" is amazing, covers everything from tying into all the fancy ropework needed to pass MIA. It can also be picked up cheap online (I got my copy for £3 on eBay)

Libby Andersons RCI book is also supposed to be good, but I dont have a copy of it to say.

AdrianC 11 Apr 2020
In reply to Madajo:

The "tech tips" section of the petzl website is worth a look.

jezb1 11 Apr 2020
In reply to Madajo:

I've been doing a few videos lately, here's one but there's quite a few other on my channel!

youtube.com/watch?v=4OWIFhUL3wA&

Post edited at 17:16
 Mark Stevenson 11 Apr 2020
In reply to Madajo:

> Does anyone have any video/book recommendations that cover the rope aspects of climbing?

Not for printed books. I've probably got every single recent instructional book that's easily available and quite frankly they are all pretty piss poor. (Nigel Shepherd's is woefully dated. Libby Peter's is so focused on the UK qualification scheme that it's super confusing for recreational climbers. The rest tend to be overly superficial or US based which again just tends to confuse any UK climber.)