UKC

Rock shoe repairs - Where's good?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Jules King 10 Feb 2005
So where's good?
I can't find any new shoes I like so thinking about resoling some not too worn out old ones.
 oor wullie 10 Feb 2005
In reply to Jules King:
When i was a poor student i found that the wee rubber patches for fixing punctures on your bike made excellent cheap repairs to my rock shoes, they do wear through quite quickly though.
 The Crow 10 Feb 2005
In reply to Jules King:

http://www.cheshireshoe.co.uk did a very good job for me with no fuss and a quick turnaround.
 chris j 10 Feb 2005
In reply to Jules King:

http://www.feetfirst.resoles.co.uk/ have always done a good job for me - just sent off a pair of Scarpa Dominators for their 3rd or 4th resole, still damn good shoes even after alla that...
 Skyfall 11 Feb 2005
In reply to chris j et al:

if it's gone through quite badly at the toe, how good a job (if at all) can they do on it?

at what stage do you get them resoled?
 tony 11 Feb 2005
In reply to JonC:

If it's gone through at the toe, they can put a new toe patch on. I've found this to be pretty effective in the past. I've used both feetfirst and cheshire shoes, and I think cheshire shoes are a bit better, but it's marginal.

Unfortunately, you can leave it too late, so if there's deeper damage than just a wee hole in the toe you might find that the overall shape of the shoe is lost. I probably err on the cautious side so I get my shoes resoled before the holes get too serious - I've spent so much time trying to find a shoe that actually fits my foot shape I want to keep the shoes in service for as long as possible.
 JDDD 11 Feb 2005
In reply to chris j:
> (In reply to Jules King)
>
> http://www.feetfirst.resoles.co.uk/ have always done a good job for me - just sent off a pair of Scarpa Dominators for their 3rd or 4th resole, still damn good shoes even after alla that...