UKC

Scottish Routes To VDiff

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Lawman 23 Sep 2005
I'm new to the purist Rock Climbing scene, I've scrambled and hiked and winter stuff but never Rock climbed before this year.

Now I'm happy leading to VDiff standard (perhaps HVDiff at a push). I'm off to Scotland in October and I'd like to do some good mountaineering style multi-pitch routes which invovle a summit (but they don't have to).

I'm going to Glencoe for 2 nights, Skye for 4 nights and Lochinver for 4 nights. Does anyone have any suggestions as to good VDiff routes up there?

Many thanks,

Rich
Slugain Howff 23 Sep 2005
In reply to Lawman:

Drive past Agags in Glencoe which has a steep, intimidating last pitch which I don't think you would like yet.
If the weather is favourable drive further north and get a feel for the mountain environment by trying Tower Ridge on Nevis for a start.
 sutty 23 Sep 2005
In reply to Lawman:

Some easier routes on Aonach dubh, East face. start at diff 500ft then increase in grades but all can lead to a walk over the top and on to Biddein. if you have not done Curved ridge on the Buchaille do it if the weather is clear, or maybe Crowberry ridge avoiding the first hard move.

Northeast Buttress on Nevis and Ledge route are both something to do to see where some harder routes go, only in clear weather as you need the views.

Some of the Skye ridge would be nice, oh and definitely do Pinnacle ridge on Sgurr na Gillean. An excellent route that is hard diff.
 Jonny Tee 69 24 Sep 2005
In reply to Lawman: Crypt Route. One of the most entertaining days I've had out in the scottish hills.
 Jack Frost 24 Sep 2005
In reply to Lawman:

Lochinver - West Ridge of Stac Pollaidh. Not a great route in itself - a bit wandering and hard to follow but finishes spectacularly on the summit.
 Lucy Wallace 24 Sep 2005
In reply to Lawman:
Totally agree about Agags, Glencoe and Tower Ridge on the Ben.