UKC

what sea kayak?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
I'm a cash strapped beginner. Not interested in the 'best' or the latest model, just want something durable, stable and affordable. Any suggestions? What about second hand from an outdoor centre or similar? I'm genuinely clueless...
 Philip 27 Apr 2006
Can't remember the manufacturer but they do a model called Titannic. It's great for beginners, bomb proof, unsinkable. Maybe google will find more details.
pwhiteside 27 Apr 2006
In reply to dan bailey:I have used an Ocean Frenzy several times and love it. Costs about £250 and handles well and isn't too heavy. Buy a back rest though otherwise you will be in a world of pain after 10 minutes.
In reply to dan bailey: you can pick up cheap ones on e bay. we got one for about £200
 Malcolm 27 Apr 2006
In reply to dan bailey:
If your wanting durable as opposed to light - get a plastic instead of GRP.

Stable - obviously the wider the better -
P+H Capellas are quite good for a beginners boat.
A lot of outdoor centres use them - try the Sports Scotland centre on Cumbrae They used to sell there old ones?
I think Glenmore had some too the last time i was there.

Whatever you do, dont listen to anyone who says a boat is "fast and stable" - you can get a compromise between the 2, but the thing that makes a boat stable ie its width, also makes it slow, and visversa obviously - a fast boat will be tippy.
So give some thought to whether you want to progress and do more ambitious things with it before you buy a boring old tub of a boat.
 pat m 27 Apr 2006
In reply to Malcolm:
> (In reply to dan bailey)
> >
> Whatever you do, dont listen to anyone who says a boat is "fast and stable" - you can get a compromise between the 2, but the thing that makes a boat stable ie its width, also makes it slow, and visversa obviously - a fast boat will be tippy.
>