UKC

Quickdraw use

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
skooch 15 Apr 2007
I am fairly new to sport climbing and just getting into leading. I have led using a friends quickdraws which had different colour karabiners so you knew which end was for the rope and which for the bolt.
I have found some DMM prowire quickdraws on the V12 website but both ends seem to be the same. Am i just not seeing the difference or is there a way to tell which end is used for what ? Any advice would be appreciated.
 Niall 15 Apr 2007
In reply to skooch:

If both ends are the same, choose one krab and mark it (with electrical tape or whatever)

Always use the same end to clip the bolt and the other to clip the rope. The theory is that falling on bolts can leave burrs inside the krab which could damage the rope if it's then run through the damaged krab. HTH.
 abarro81 15 Apr 2007
In reply to skooch: often one end will be held in place (so it cant rotate) clip this end into the rope and the other into the bolt/gear. (this reduces the chance of the krab not in the bolt spinning into an awkward position if you pull the rope leaving the draws in the route for your mate to lead or to try again after falling). dont know the exact draws in question that well, i have some live wires which are held with little band things (20cm) or just by one end of the draw having less space (10cm). if you're worried confused then post a link to the draws n someone should be able to tell you if they have an obvious difference in ends.
skooch 15 Apr 2007
Thanks for the advice. The draws I was looking at are here :

http://www.v12outdoor.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=938&osCs...
 abarro81 15 Apr 2007