UKC

Setting up anchor points and fisrt trad route

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 deeview 13 May 2008
Hia Guys

I am 16 and an experienced indoor climber 6b+ on lead routes indoors.

Me and will my climbing partener are in the same boat and want to get out on our local cliffs (Near Aberdeen)

However I am not really sure how to set up anchor points and belays.(Some links and visuals may be useful here ?)We have more than enough equipment between us and the confidence to lead outdoors (I think) however need some guidence on this matter.

Also does anyone have any info/advice of routes near cove or portlethen?

Any advice on these matters would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance.

Tom
 Mr.Ric 13 May 2008
In reply to deeview: I'm just getting into trad myself. I've found that a lot of trad routes do actually have anchor bolts which makes things a bit easier, although obviously you'll need to decide whether you'll need to back them up.

I learnt about anchor and trad techniques from a book (rock climbing essential skills and techniques by Libby Peter), I practised them at ground/bouldering level and had someone check my trad placements to make sure they were sound.

Justin T 13 May 2008
In reply to deeview:

Ask around at your wall. Chances are they either run outdoor courses to show you the basics or someone there will be willing to take you out.

The alternative is to read and fully digest some books on the subject like Libby Peter's excellent one (check Amazon) but the obvious risk is you have no-one to point out obvious (and easy to make) mistakes when you're actually trying it so you need to be the sort of person who can absorb written instructions easily and not make mistakes of the bad and permanent type.
 Justin T 13 May 2008
In reply to deeview: