UKC

Rockfax Normal vs Rockfax Bold Trad Grade Chart

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Just been checking out the grade charts for Trad on the Rockfax website. Seems pretty straight forward I thought. Then I found the chart for 'Bold' routes which apparently is slightly altered to take into account 'bolder' trad routes.

Now I thought that this is exactly what the standard chart did. For example, an HVS 5b would have more protection than an E1 or E2 5b. So what is the chart for bold trad routes for?

Am I completely missing something? I know grade charts are only a guide but wouldn't it be simpler to have just the one chart? Please forgive me, I am a trad newbie!
In reply to Steve Perry (Pezz):

The main table here - http://www.rockfax.com/publications/grades.html - is for routes which are well protected. The following text is under it which pretty much explains the difference:

BOLD ROUTES - The table below can only be used for comparing the grade of traditional routes which are reasonably well protected. A route where there is a possibility of a dangerous fall will have a much higher E grade than the actual technical difficulties on the route would merit.

... and then we link to the adapted table here - http://www.rockfax.com/publications/grades-bold.html which has stretched E-grades to account for the dnager with low technical difficulty factor.

Most of this is explained on the pages.

Alan
 teflonpete 29 May 2009
In reply to Alan James - UKC:

Just out of interest, it states in the blurb at the top of the bold chart that Indian face is E9 6c but 7b+ on a top rope.
How is the tech grade harder on a top rope?
Or were you referring to the moves being about F7b+ if done on a top rope?
Like I said, purely out of interest as I'll never be able to climb it, top rope or lead!
In reply to teflonpete:

French/sport grades.
 wilkie14c 29 May 2009
In reply to teflonpete: