UKC

Which is the better Evolv rock climbing shoe?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
tippi666 19 Aug 2009
I'm just starting out rock climbing and bouldering and I am looking to buy my first pair of shoes. I want to get either the Evolv Elektra shoe or the Evolv Rockstar (mainly as I am vegan) but I'm not sure which one would be better. I have also been told that lace-up shoes (like the rockstar) can be better than velcro shoes (like the Elektra) as they can be tied up tighter and provide more support to the foot. I was just wondering if this was true and if any one who has either of these shoes could give me any advice or point me in the right direction! Thanks for your help x
In reply to tippi666:

I have had two pairs of Evolv Elektra now and have been very happy with them.
 neil the weak 20 Aug 2009
In reply to tippi666: Have you tried them on? If not, go and do that before you even think about any of the other factors - the shape of them is not quite the same so you might find one fits you better than the other.

As to whether to go with laces or velcro, if you are going to wear your rockshoes with your toes flat inside them (rather than wearing the shoe so tightly that it forces them to curl / bunch up a load) then laces make more sense for that kind of fit. With velcro shoes the fastening doesn't hold them onto your foot as well (as laces) so you are more dependent on a tighter fit (which your average beginner tends not to like?) to keep them held in place. If you try and wear a velcro in a more relaxed style they can get a bit sloppy feeling later in their life, whereas laces will lock the shoe onto your foot a bit better.

The only real advantage of velcro is the obvious one of convenience on and off (good if you wear your shoes super tight) so if you are being adventurous with your sizing and going snug, maybe electras, otherwise I think (assuming fit is OK for you) I'd suggest Rockstars.
 pebbles 20 Aug 2009