UKC

MSR whisperlite - am I going to die

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
si lindsell 25 Nov 2009
Hi,

Ive just bought a msr whisperlite to burin petrol to use on bivis as well as in my campervan to replace one of the Meths burners that takes about a day to make a cup of tea.

In the instructions it gives all sorts of warnings about danger of death by carbon monoxode poisoning and burns by using it not outside. Would this be an issue in my van if i had it in the old stove housing with the window open?

Cheers, si
moonraker 25 Nov 2009
In reply to si lindsell: ...you are winding us up....right!!!!!
 TobyA 25 Nov 2009
In reply to si lindsell: Have you lit it yet? They flare easily and impressively until you get the knack. Wouldn't want to light mine inside anything for that reason, and I've been using one for nearly 20 years!
 Green Porridge 25 Nov 2009
In reply to si lindsell:

Ok, two things. Firstly, if you dont know your stove really well, don't try it. It'll make a big flame, you'll kak yourself and try and throw it out of a window. Secondly - I dont think I'd ever use my petrol stove in a room without all the windows open, and only then if it were absolutely necessary. Not from a fire point of view - I've got pretty good control of flare and such (primus omnifuel), but from the point of view of fumes. I demonstrated it to a mate once, on my living room table and couldn't go back in the room for about an hour (it was only running 5 mins or so) - the fumes from burning unleaded are just vile. I dont think using one in a campervan is a good idea at all - maybe get gas?

Tim
 Damo 25 Nov 2009
In reply to si lindsell:

Assuming this is not a troll, there is no good reason to burn petrol in any stove. Petrol in MSRs is for emergencies only - stuck in remotest Wakistan etc. It's volatile, smelly and dirty - not good for you or your stove.