UKC

Peru

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 dougair 18 Feb 2010
I'm off to Peru in June (Cuzco, Nazca and Huaraz). What should I not miss? Are there any non-technical peaks I could take a complete novice on. Will mostly be trekking but it would be a shame not to get on the snow at least for a bit! Thanks.
 kp1 18 Feb 2010
In reply to dougair: I don't think there are any peaks around Nazca to climb but a day or two will be enough time to spend there. There are some big peaks not that far from Cuzco but they aren't easy to get to and organising a trip while in Cuzco might be difficult. I was there a few years and had no luck finding a guide.
There are a few fairly non technical mountains close to Huaraz which are very easy to access. Vallunaraju(5686) which is PD can be climbed in two days. The first day walk from 4200 up to a camp on the edge of the glacier about 5100. Summit and be back in Huaraz for dinner the next day. Huarapasca(5450) is PD+ and can be climbed in a single day from Huaraz. Ishinca and Urus are both around 5500 and PD- and can be climbed from a base in the Ishinca valley. There's another peak called Maparaju which is around F and is supposed to have great views but I think it's quite a hike to get to it(not sure though).
 uncontrollable 18 Feb 2010

also the walk up to 'laguna churup' from huaraz is well wotrh doing, doens't include a peak but great for acclimatisation. Can be easily done without guide.
almost sane 19 Feb 2010
In reply to dougair:
You shouldn't miss the Sunday market at Pisac.
I'd recommend you attend at least one local fiesta (there are loads).
Its worth taking time in the Sacred Valley, and not restricting yourself to Machu Picchu.
Non-technical peak? Nevado Maria Huamantilla.