UKC

New stove - Gas of liquid fuel?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 kipper12 28 Jun 2010
AM in the market (Meerkat) for a new stove, and am looking for a single burner one. I have no idea of the pros/cons of gas vs liquid fuel. Any thoughts.

Cheers
In reply to kipper12:
I'm no expert, so will expect ukcers to correct me if I'm wrong, but I would say gas stuff was lighter to carry about than liquid however I perfer my trangia type stove, guess it depends what you are using it for and were.
 rallymania 28 Jun 2010
In reply to kipper12:

gas, quick, clean, easy to light... but not so good at altitude / low temps, fuel bulky for large amounts and more expensive to run

parafin / similar, pretty much the opposite

obviously there's more to it, like gas stoves normally being much cheaer to buy.

i have a pocket rock for quick and clean cooking and an omnifuel to burn pretty much anything
 wildchild 28 Jun 2010
In reply to kipper12:

You can buy petrol practically everywhere. A lot cheaper than gas bottles and for the same weight of fuel and bottle will last longer (I guess, not measured). And will still work when it's cold.

Gas ones are cheaper upfront and quicker to light. That's about it.
In reply to kipper12: Totally depends on where you are thinking of taking it. For uk I would stick to trusty old gas! if going anywhere that is high or particularly cold then go for a omni fuel (gas and liquid). Again, this depends on your budget as a good Omni fuel stove costs in the region/in excess of £100 Vs £25 for a gas stove!
 Green Porridge 28 Jun 2010
In reply to kipper12:

Gas stove: cheaper to buy initially, clean and easy to light in good conditions, the simple ones are very light.