UKC

PRODUCT NEWS: Black Diamond Gridlock Screwgate

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 UKC Gear 24 May 2011
Black Diamond GridLock, 3 kbWith its revolutionary, patent-pending design made possible by our in-house hot forge, the Black Diamond GridLock Screwgate eliminates the dangers of cross loading. Designed specifically for belaying, the intuitive, easy-to-use GridLock isolates the belay loop behind its uniquely shaped gate, thereby keeping the carabiner in its proper orientation. The GridLock's I-beam spine transitions into a large, rounded rope-bearing surface for maximum strength and smooth rope feeding. Simply put, you'll never have to deal with a shifting, cross-loaded belay carabiner again.

Read more at http://www.ukclimbing.com/gear/news.php?id=3751
 JHammond 25 May 2011
I've been using one of these for a couple of months now. I prefer it to the DMM Belay Master for several reasons - there's no plastic to faff with or lose (although I appreciate the newer versions have overcome this). The overall size is smaller than the Belay Master which suits me, and the only thing I miss is the fact that you couldn't close the Belay Master clip unless the gate was screwed - provided a nice reminder once or twice!

It can be a little awkward to unclip it from your belay loop however. I find myself removing the belay plate, then having to spin the krab round to remove the loop from within the secondary gate, then spinning it back to remove it from the primary gate if that makes sense.

I use mine with a Black Diamond harness - I don't know if other brands might have particularly fat belay loops that wouldn't find behind the secondary gate? Probably not a concern.

Nice bit of innovation though, I recommend it.
 itsThere 29 May 2011
In reply to UKC Gear: very hard to fit ropes/belay loop through the small hole. same with the dmm. not great for a trad belay situation. indoors there is nothing better.
In reply to UKC Gear: