UKC

Ice axe question

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
lachy773 07 Jan 2012
Hi, I was wondering what is the best gear solution for this situation. I have no winter experience as yet so dont judge me haha

Say you want to do some mountaineering (say in the alps) on a large mountain but also has some steep ice climbing. Would you need to carry a a walking ice axe and a pair of more agressive climbing axes? I ask because the more agressive axes are not so suitable for self arrest and walking as they are shorter and the angle is different?? or do you settle for less agressive climbing axes that would double as a walking axe?

so axes such as the dmm fly are not as good on the steep stuff but could be used as a walking axe too?

and what about the black diamond reactor style axe... they wouldnt be suitable to double up as a walking axe? too short? wouldn't plunge into the snow properlly right?

hope this isnt too confusing

cheers
 existing debt 07 Jan 2012
In reply to lachy773:

Ive seen people out in the hills with their agressive axes on their pack and a lightweight walking/mountaineering axe for the less angled terrain. This can also be used as a spare axe...

Paul

jonnie3430 07 Jan 2012
In reply to lachy773:
>
> Say you want to do some mountaineering (say in the alps) on a large mountain but also has some steep ice climbing. Would you need to carry a a walking ice axe and a pair of more agressive climbing axes?

No, just the tech axes, you can arrest with them too. You'd spend most time on the ice, so get something suitable for that.
>
> so axes such as the dmm fly are not as good on the steep stuff but could be used as a walking axe too?

Yes, but flys are good for the majority's steep stuff too.

> and what about the black diamond reactor style axe... they wouldnt be suitable to double up as a walking axe?

They'll be as long as the fly's but you wouldn't use them as a walking axe.
>