UKC

Best literature for long multipitch climbing?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
akana 05 Jul 2012
Hi,

What's the best book/website/movie for learning the skills needed to do longer multipitches? Not talking big wall, but around 350 meter walls.

Heard about a book called Trad climbing +. Does it cover what you need to know on these climbs?

/akana
In reply to akana: Multipitch is multipitch whether you're doing two pitches or 20 pitches. The skills are the same where ever. what will be different is the rock type and each rock has a 'personality' that takes a bit more experience than any book will tell you.

Simon Caldwell 06 Jul 2012
In reply to akana:
The main thing you need for a long multi-pitch is speed and efficiency - 5 minutes wasted on each belay of a 20 pitch route is almost 2 hours added to the day. You can only really gain this by experience.
akana 06 Jul 2012
Thanks, I will not go for a long climb until I have some experience.

Do the books have sections for multipitch which covers maybe some rescue and things like bringing water and a warm jacket or is it just the technique of multipitch?
 toad 06 Jul 2012
In reply to akana: I always take a Jilly Cooper to while away those long hours belaying
 GrahamD 06 Jul 2012
In reply to akana:

Toreador is right - it is easy to over anasyse multipitch. In reality there is very little difference between multipitch and single pitch - you are just climbing for longer. There is no substitute for practice. Harder two pitch routes, easier multi pitch routes - get out there and practice !
 Trangia 06 Jul 2012
In reply to akana:

Try to pair up with someone of similar ability so that you can lead through. Much quicker on a long route.
 d_b 06 Jul 2012
In reply to akana:

I agree with the people who say efficiency is the thing. Agree a system for handing over gear, concentrate on tidy ropework and don't waste time on belays.