UKC

Improving

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
climber007 06 Jan 2013
Hello,

I've been climbing now for over two years and started pretty much from scratch. At first I was doing a lot of top roping and really enjoyed it. I started lead climbing with somebody from work and they gave me a few pointers.

At the start of last year, I did a two session technique course at my local indoor centre and everything changed for me. Before I could get to the top of a 6a+ by doing chin ups but the contents of the course was all totally new to me. Because it was so new, and everything seemed a bit rushed in order for the instructor to cover everything that they needed to, I'm not too sure how much I got out of it.

Following on from the course, I purchased Dan Hague's 'Self Coached Climber' which has been great. I've followed the exercises and it's taken about a year to consolidate my learning.

However, my head is all a bit unclear. When I'm on the wall, I'm thinking about whether what I'm doing is correct and on difficult climbs, I still doing a few chin ups.

I am a member of a club and I know how I want to climb, but in terms of learning movement technique, where do I go from here? Should I do another technique course? Get some professional coaching?

Grateful for any advice.
 Keendan 06 Jan 2013
In reply to climber007:

Warming up is a good time to think about technique, because all the moves are easy enough to give you energy to think.

Go slow, and experiment with different ways to make a move as efficient as possible.

You don't tend to learn technique when you're on something really hard because it's too much brainpower.
 Mark Haward 08 Jan 2013
In reply to climber007: