UKC

where to go next

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
samwise24 29 May 2013
im getting really into my climbing but at the minute its only top roping on a climbing wall, usually craggy island in guildford. iv managed a few 6Bs but think iv taken my climbing as far as i can with just top roping. id love to get out and try real rock but im not sure how? id be interested in joing a club but carnt find one local to basingstoke where i live. id also be interested in doing a guided day but im a serving soldier and gauranteeing the time off can be a problem.
 JLS 29 May 2013
In reply to samwise24:

Is the services club no use?

http://www.ukclimbing.com/listings/info.php?id=130
 tlm 29 May 2013
In reply to samwise24:

What about Guildford Mountaineering Club?

http://www.guildfordmountaineeringclub.org.uk/

You can see other options on this map:

https://www.thebmc.co.uk/map#clubs,huts

I would definitely join a club, to find people to share petrol costs with from where you live. It's a great time of year to get outdoors. Do you have people to climb with? Another option is to buy some minimal kit and set up a top rope outside for yourself - there is plenty of information around on what to do...
samwise24 30 May 2013
In reply to JLS:
i honestly never thought about it, thanks for the tip. i will be giving them a call tommorow although it is a friday, trying to find a squaddie on a friday is like trying to find gold in the desert. do you have any experience of the army mountaineering club or what its like?
samwise24 30 May 2013
In reply to tlm: thanks for the friendly reply. i already have my basic kit being shoes harness 35m rope belay device and general outdoor kit. i generally just climb with the mrs but always looking for other climbing partners so a club might be a good idea. do you have any reconmended reading? finding it harder than i thought to find the basic info.
 turtlespit 31 May 2013