UKC

Grigri 2 and rope discolouration

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 k_os 05 Jun 2013
I've been using my grigri 2 frequently for the past 6 months with the same rope (Edelrid Python) and the rope is becoming blackened on the same half all the way along (does that make sense?!). It seems pretty clear the rope sits the same way in the GriGri each time I'm lowering, one side against the black plastic, which is where the rope is discoloured. Crap rope? time for a replacement?!

Has anyone else had this problem with the grigri 2? the original grigri is all metal from what i remember, so wouldn't cause this problem.
I guess it's not a major problem, just a pain if i want to find the mid mark, and leaves your hands really grubby when belaying. Tried to wash it, but it doensn't come off all that easily.

jon 05 Jun 2013
In reply to kos_os:

> the original grigri is all metal from what i remember, so wouldn't cause this problem.

Hmmm, so Grigri 2s are plastic?
OP k_os 05 Jun 2013
In reply to kos_os: part plastic, yes.

you can see the black section on the 5th photo in on the link, that's the plastic i'm referring to...

http://www.petzl.com/en/outdoor/belay-devices/grigri
 jon 05 Jun 2013
In reply to kos_os: