UKC

adventure watch

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Matrix 19 Jun 2013
can anyone recommend a value for money adventure watch ? I am new to climbing so don t need lot of feature , maybe compass altitude , under £100..
 GrahamD 20 Jun 2013
In reply to Matrix:

I use the cheapest Casio watch I can get thats reasonably waterproof (so it doesn't matter when it inevitably gets scratched / left in pub / strap breaks), and have a compass seperately. I think the concept of an 'adventure watch' is a marketing man's wet dream, personally.
 martinph78 20 Jun 2013
In reply to GrahamD: Casio G-shock are bombproof (to used an overused term). Sure they do one with the functions you would like.

Keep in mind battery life is reduced with these features though.

jkarran 20 Jun 2013
In reply to GrahamD:

+1 £15 Casio digital for running and climbing and generally doing anything where it's likely to get lost or ruined. Mechanical Seiko 5 for day to day use because it's a lovely machine, robust and affordable should it happen to get lost or broken.

I can see the point in wearable GPS and altimeter I suppose for walking/running/cycling but less so for climbing but personally I'd still go with something reliable and cheap. On the other hand if that's what you want then why not, I hope someone has a godd suggestion
jk
 Monkey_Alan 20 Jun 2013
In reply to Matrix:
Keep an eye on Lidl's website, and get a £20 altimeter/compass watch next time they have them.
Richard88 20 Jun 2013
 EeeByGum 20 Jun 2013
In reply to Matrix: I don't recommend climbing in a watch. It will get scratched to burgery and may even get your hand stuck in a crack. If you need to use a compass in anger, I wouldn't rely on a watch for an accurate reading and altitude whilst climbing isn't that useful. You are either at the bottom of a route, on it or at the top.
 Cameron94 20 Jun 2013
In reply to Matrix: http://www.amazon.com/Timex-Expedition-Yellow-Strap-Black/dp/B0027DKVJ8