UKC

Rock Simond - rubbish or not?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 PPP 12 Aug 2013
Hi,

I am totally beginner rock climber. However, I decided to buy some gear so I would save some money instead of paying few quids every time I visit the climbing centre. Also, another centre has a bouldering wall but no rent services at all. I think casual trainers (definitely not hiking boots) will not be suitable for climbing at all. Am I right?

However, the local centre has some Red Chilly shoes to rent and I found that the best size was 11 for me. I usually wear 8.5 and the staff gave me size 10 initially. Shoes sized 10 were almost okay, but after one wall I opted for larger ones as the fingers started to pain. Hence, I have no idea what size would I need and I can not buy on internet. As a student, I can not afford so expensive brand new shoes sold in most of stores. So I found Rock Simond shoes for 30 pounds: http://www.decathlon.co.uk/rock-id_8230651.html . Still slightly expensive, but definitely affordable. Would they be okay for beginner to climb indoors? 2 years guarantee looks appealing to me and hopefully they would last at least this period. Talking of comfort/performance, I guess they will do their job and as a beginner, I will not feel that much difference.

P.s. If someone has usable rock climbing shoes in Glasgow and would be happy to let me try them on before buying, I would consider buying second hand ones. Give me a shout!
 Nigel Thomson 12 Aug 2013
In reply to PPP: Pish poor. 1/10
 Aigen 12 Aug 2013
In reply to PPP: They are crap. sorry.
the real slim shady 12 Aug 2013
In reply to Aigen: the climb X crux shoes in go outdoors might be on interest to you, they are £40 and don't seem too bad.

HTH
woody0606 12 Aug 2013
In reply to PPP: What every you buy, make sure you try them on. And bear in mind that they'll probably stretch a little.
OP PPP 12 Aug 2013