UKC

How much difference would a TT bike make?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Removed User 24 Aug 2013

As some will be aware, I'm relatively new to serious cycling but did a triathlon this year which included a 62km bike section.

I averaged 30.5km/hr on a Specialized Secteur with aero bars. My aim is to increase my average speed to 35km/hr for next year's race and I realsie that most of this will come from training.

But how much difference could I realistically expect from a pure TT bike over a full carbon upgrade for my road bike?
 tjin 24 Aug 2013
In reply to Removed User:

Will you be faster on a TT; probably. How fast is hard to say due to the amount of variables.

The best solution would just to train more and harder. My TT bike did to make me significantly faster this year, the significant more training did (mostly on my road bike).

Should you buy a TT bike, well depends on what your plans are for the future and how much you are willing to spend. TT bikes are not cheap. Depending on the work you do, you can work more to buy an expensive bike or not buy an expensive bike and train more.

Remember It’s not the guy with the nice bike that is bad ass, it’s the dude that over takes everybody on his old steel frame bike.

Cheaper solutions would be a aero helmet and having a aero hydration system. (you already got the aero bars, which otherwise would be #1) Frame and wheels are some of the most expensive upgrades.
 Enty 24 Aug 2013

Rule 4 dude.

E
Removed User 24 Aug 2013
In reply to tjin:

Thanks. My preference is to upgrade the road bike and train like f**k but all of the fast boys and girls were on TT bikes. You mention the helmet, does that really make that much difference?

I enjoyed the Tri and will do it again next year but TBH I think I'd like to get into the road cycling more. That said I could do that on the Secteur.
Removed User 24 Aug 2013
In reply to Enty:
> (In reply to Minneconjou Sioux)
>
> Rule 4 dude.
>
> E