UKC

Disk Brakes on a CX Bike

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 The New NickB 06 Nov 2013
I fancy a CX bike for winter road and light off road use. Been looking at a few, within budget it seems I can get Ultegra with cantilever brakes or 105 with disk. I have no experience of disk brakes, but my initial thoughts are extra faff, more weight and basically over kill. Does anyone want to try and change my mind?
 ro8x 06 Nov 2013
In reply to The New NickB:

Having took up racing cross this season, I would definitely recommend getting disc brakes!

Better mud clearance. Actually being able to stop when you pull the levers.

Reach>Talent 06 Nov 2013
I'm not a skinny wheel sadist* but I would say that if you plan to spend time off road in winter then tyre clearance is a major factor which means disks make a lot of sense. Plus if you put a bend in a wheel then you've got more chance of being able to roll home on disks.

* My delicate constitution requires a bit more padding
 TobyA 06 Nov 2013
In reply to The New NickB: I'm in two minds on this, but then I've never tried a cross bike with canti brakes. I've got BB5 discs on my Boardman and they are ok but require way more maintenance than the hydraulics on my old hybrid or on my MTB and can lose power easily enough - (pad wear? cable stretch? Not sure). But sometimes you do want as much braking as you can get, the cantis on my road bike work well but not sure if they would still if everything was caked in mud or very wet.
 beardy mike 06 Nov 2013