UKC

Down filled coat help?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Gaijin 20 Dec 2013
Looking for some advice.

I want a nice, tight fitting downs coat (a la Ran Alpine Microliter style) and have noticed a massive fluctuation in prices.

I had had my heart set on the Rab, but since I've popped into a few local outdoor shops and found an equivalent to it for as little as 40!

So, am I paying more for a better coat, or is the higher cost just paying for the name?

Any help would be grately received.
 martinph78 20 Dec 2013
In reply to Gaijin:

If the outer fabrics, down fill and down quality are the same then yes, you are just paying for the name. If so, please let us know which brand they are for £40!
OP Gaijin 20 Dec 2013
In reply to Martin1978:

I will check. Like I said, complete novice to even what to check with this style of coat. I did a 'feel' test and the cheap one and a north face one felt the same (material and thickness wise anyway)
 blackcat 20 Dec 2013
In reply to Gaijin:

Hi mate i think you would be hard pushed to find a quality down jacket for 40 quid,if price is more important to you maybe look on ebay,but you will find that the nice close fitting ones are even more expensive.
 angry pirate 21 Dec 2013
In reply to Gaijin:

In contrast, I recently picked up a cheap decathlon down vest. Obviously not as warm or as high quality as the rab microlight range but as it was a third of the price I am happy enough. I live in it now.
Buying a monster thick down jacket I'd always buy a high fill rating, quality jacket as I see it as a long term (20+ years) investment but a with a micro layer I don't think it matters so much.
 thin bob 21 Dec 2013
In reply to Gaijin:

down quality and fabrics vary, as do features like quality zips, cuff fastenings, fit etc. Hoods are especially tricky to get a good one.