UKC

Climbing shoes going for a size down or a size that fits.

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Hardmanryan 22 Dec 2013
I have been working within climbing walls now for the past 4 years. The question I always get asked when buying new climbing shoes is "do you get a shoe that fits or get a size down?". I have personally tried having the climbing shoes a size down and my climbing suffered as a result of this because it made my feet hurt! But the climbing shops seem to be giving advice on getting a smaller size of shoe. I would personally recommend climbing with a shoe that fits. What are your thoughts on this? Would you go for a climbing shoe a size down or that fits?
In reply to Hardmanryan:

Its depends entirely on the particular shoe and what you want it for.

This is a useful article: http://www.rockrun.com/wp/rock-shoe-sizing-guide/
In reply to Hardmanryan:

> This is a climbing shoe for indoor use, most of the time it is a first time buy. I still would go with the shoe that fits most comfortable. Would you do for a size down or a size that is conforable?

The size that fits best. If that also happens to be comfortable, then you're onto a winner.

Choosing a shoe that is comfortable but doesn't fit is idiotic. Choosing a shoe that fits, then randomly buying a smaller size is also idiotic.
OP Hardmanryan 23 Dec 2013
In reply to Hardmanryan:

That's my thoughts completely! Why has this myth come about that if you get a shoe that is a size down, then your going to climb better and this is some of the advice that my clients at the wall have been given from shops!
 Phill Mitch 23 Dec 2013
In reply to Hardmanryan:

I wonder how many people out there have bought shoes that are too small and ended up with painful feet for months. I know I have.
 remus Global Crag Moderator 23 Dec 2013
In reply to Hardmanryan: