UKC

Self belay

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Davon 02 May 2014
Hi I know this has been talked about before , but I would like views please . I am relatively new to climbing and wish to do small climbs on my own , when i want ( not having to depend on someone being free etc). I have a grigri 2 and would like to know what ascender/etc people think is best to accompy it to make a safe system .
I am not talking big climbs here just something to fill a couple of hours in . ( before people tell me a buddy is the only way )

Many thanks

Dave
 Duncan Bourne 02 May 2014
In reply to Davon:

I always used a shunt when I was self-belaying, probably better than a gri-gri. I always set up a top rope and weighed the bottom end with a rucksack to make pulling the rope through he shunt easier.
 mrdigitaljedi 02 May 2014
In reply to Davon:

A petzl traxion is for ppl who want to self belay, just make sure your anchors are bomb proof and u weight the bottom of your rope or it wont work.
 blackcat 02 May 2014
In reply to Davon: I always use a shunt.The thing to make sure is if you cant get up the climb,you need a system to get urself down safely.

splat2million 02 May 2014
In reply to Davon:

GriGri2 is a pain to self-belay with because you need to pull the rope through yourself. If you make a couple of moves without pulling the rope through, you have lots of slack in your rope so if you fall you go further, and put more force on the anchors (although if you're self belaying the anchor should ideally be able to hold an elephant anyway). There's also the (theoretical?) risk that the leaver on the GriGri2 gets caught in something and held open and so it doesn't catch you.
I use a shunt on my belay loop and a handle ascender attached to me via a sling on a backup line from the anchor. Works great for me, but you must never grab the shunt if you fall.