UKC

Yosemite

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
speedymushmouse 13 May 2014
I'm off to Yosemite in September. I'm not sure I can be doing with the regimented way Half Dome now operates ( permits, queues etc ) can anyone advise of a similar / better top out and view point we can walk to without the restrictions.
 JJL 13 May 2014
In reply to speedymushmouse:

You can climb there at 5.9
Or walk to the top of el Cap
 1poundSOCKS 13 May 2014
In reply to JJL:

Snakedike is 5.7 isn't it?
 JJL 13 May 2014
In reply to 1poundSOCKS:

Yeh maybe. There's one hardish move on p2? Yeah, perhaps 5.7. I found the grading didn't translate well!
 1poundSOCKS 13 May 2014
In reply to JJL:

I haven't done it, I was a total trad novice when I was there, the R rating was a bit off-putting for me.
 EarlyBird 14 May 2014
In reply to JJL:

The crux move is in the first 20/30 ft of the first pitch - although there is a hardish move on pitch 2.
 full stottie 14 May 2014

What about glacier point?
 Stig 14 May 2014

> I'm off to Yosemite in September. I'm not sure I can be doing with the regimented way Half Dome now operates ( permits, queues etc ) can anyone

I didnt know this, but not surprised. I thought it was one of the most dangerous situations I've ever been amongst. I think two people died in the vicinity the week I was there.

The walk up to Glacier Point is stunning and gives amazing views up the valley.

I would have thought likewise the walk to the summit of El Cap? I only walked up to level with the falls though.

Maybe walk up to the shoulder of Half Dome - presumably this is still feasible?
 Offwidth 14 May 2014

The place is one big view, just explore.

On Snake Dike I'd say it is VS 5a in UK terms with a bolt next to the slab crux and yet once on the dike you have belay to belay unprotected pitches with the odd move of VS 4a, 5.4X.
 Solaris 14 May 2014
In reply to Offwidth: