UKC

Climbing in Georgian Caucasus

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 mlt 14 May 2014
Hi,

I'm wondering if any one here has visited/climbed in the Caucasus region of Georgia. I know border permits are in place on the Russian side, but are there any restrictions/permits required in Georgia? I haven't yet been able to find out.

Also anything to be aware of in terms of security/safety? I've heard various things, but I don't know whether to take it with a pinch of salt and what the actual situation really is like.

Any input appreciated.

Thanks
 pec 14 May 2014
In reply to mlt:

I have no knowledge of the area but have you looked on the Foreign and Commonwealth Office website? If the official advice is "against all but essential treavel" or something along those lines then your insurance policy will probably be invalid and they won't pay up should you need to make a claim.
 67hours 14 May 2014
In reply to mlt:

Matt,

The AC ran a trip there this March I believe? Areas like Kazbegi and Chaukhi Mountain aren't an issue getting to, but I think Svaneti and the area to the far NW are more difficult (from memory, its been a little while). I suggest you contact Bruce Packard at the Alpine Club for more details, I think he's even doing a lecture in London on the 27th May about it...!

George
 JohnV 15 May 2014
In reply to mlt:

I went ski mountaineering in Georgia last spring, to Kasbek and Mestia. We weren't asked for any permits anywhere. We stayed in the betlemi hut, a huge disused meteo station, for the skiing around and on Kasbek and there is a charge for this, ask at the Geoland map shop in Tblisi.