UKC

Bike Transport

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 craig1983 20 May 2014
So I'm a mountain biking noob and I'm looking into how best to transport 2 bikes around the country.

Got 2 new bikes with quick release wheels I just assumed taking both wheels off and sticking it in the back of the car would be the easiest way. I did this last night and when putting it back on, it took me half an hour of fiddling with the QR tension to get the wheel seated perfectly again where its not rubbing on the brake pads (hydraulic discs). I thought 'B*gger doing that every time!'

Anyone got any words of wisdom? Bike Rack a better (if not costlier) option?

For info, I used a pad spacer and didnt touch the brake lever when changing the wheel.

wilkesley 20 May 2014
In reply to craig1983:

Bike Rack. If you happen to have a tow bar fitted, racks that fit to it are very easy to attach and save you having to worry about scratching/denting you car. If you don't have a tow bar, you will doubtless get lots of suggestions about which rack is best in a minute or two
 Ridge 20 May 2014
In reply to wilkesley:
If I didn't have a towbar, (which I don't), I'd go for a roof carrier over a rack on the back. Doesn't obstruct lights and number plate and don't have to hook it to the tailgate with consequent scratches.
 tlm 20 May 2014
In reply to craig1983:

I've always just put them in the car and not had the problem you mention with the brakes? Don't have to worry about getting the bikes nicked, they get kept dry and out of the rain, don't cause wind resistance, don't fall off, or damage your car.
 Bob Hughes 20 May 2014
In reply to craig1983:

always in the back of the car - maybe its practice but it should take about 2 minutes to put the front wheel back on and set the bike up again.
OP craig1983 20 May 2014
In reply to tlm: