UKC

Solo travelling to the US but what state?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Paps85 23 May 2014
Ok it is time for a change and time to organize an adventure. Unfortunately over the past 11yrs I have managed to fall into the trap of working to hard and focusing to much on my career. But as of September this 29 yr old feels it is time for a break and for the first time in my life I intend to go travelling for 6-12 months in the US. My question is, as a complete novice to travelling and the climbing hot spots in the US, where the hell do I go? I really want to experience the wilderness and I love the idea of spending some time climbing and hiking over mountains ranges and walking through huge forest. But my main concern is I need to go somewhere, where it will be easy to find other climbers along the way. Meaning I can spend the majority of my time lead climbing.

Obliviously Yosemite will be a great choice to head to but where else has a large climbing community?

This is my first attempt at researching information for this trip and so if anyone has any advice/recommendations that would be great.

Cheers

dek 23 May 2014
In reply to Paps85:

Gen up on US websites, create a profile, team up with an Ex-Pat possibly?
 veteye 23 May 2014
In reply to Paps85:

In terms of the wilderness experience,I would certainly like to go back to the Wind River Mountains in Wyoming.It may not have the most intense climbing,but it is such an expanse of untouched land and just beautiful.You could perhaps do it the other way round and go to Jackson Hole and team up with someone climbing out of there.Then you could head into the Wind Rivers with your new climbing friends.
I also like the cascade mountains in Washington state and then of course there is Alaska.