UKC

Kit list

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
cjbobo88 25 Jun 2014
I am new to the forum, although i have been hiking and climbing for many years. I am about to undertake the 3 peaks challenge with 2 friends. One has told me this morning he only plans to take a camelpack!!! I have advised against this as there are other items needed incase of any potential problems but i do not think i have made any difference. Having experienced the first stages of hypothermia in the past, i do not wish to be at risk again. my kit list is ridiculous compared to the basic advised by most sites and its all based around keeping dry, warm and first aid. I even carry a secondary pouch...and as stupid as i look, i know i have all i need in case of an emergency. How can i put it across to my friend that his kit list of water and a snack bar is foolish and potentially dangerous? I do not think i am over doing it at all. Should i look after myself and leave him to it or try and get it through to them that this stuff is important?
 mattrm 25 Jun 2014
In reply to cjbobo88:

It's worth taking the extra safety kit. Here's what I'd consider essential:

Full body waterproof cover (i.e jacket and trousers)
extra fleece/jumper
Hat and gloves
Food & water
Small first aid kit ('ouch pouch' with plasters and painkillers (hay fever meds for me as well))
Emergency bag - I rate this - http://www.adventuremedicalkits.com/survival/shelter/survive-outdoors-longe...
Map and compass

If you're in a group a 4 man bothy bag is really worth having. They're excellent. I also have a bag which has a spare compass, head torch, spare batteries, insect repellent, but you don't need it if you don't want to take that extra stuff. It doesn't take up much space however.
In reply to cjbobo88: