UKC

should i buy this bike?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Fatboy 19 Jul 2014
Firstly, I'm a complete beginner with no knowledge of road cycling but am keen to start. I have the chance to buy a second hand bike that was involved in an accident but am unsure if it is a good idea. The bike is a felt AR3, carbon fibre frame with SRAM drivetrain etc. The guy selling it was knocked off the bike by a car, the insurance company had the frame x-rayed and there was no damage found. He has since bought himself a new bike and hence is trying to sell the old one. He wants 1000 euros for it. Also, he is a friend of my boss so not a complete stranger.

Is this a good deal or should I steer clear?

Any advice welcome.

Tom

Run_Ross_Run 19 Jul 2014
In reply to Fatboy:

Can you get a copy of the xray and a statement/letter from the insurance company stating the frame hasn't been damaged?

That would be my 1st step.
 ewar woowar 19 Jul 2014
In reply to Fatboy:

I have never heard of an insurance company X-raying a bike frame following a collision.
It isn't worth the hassle.
Most, if not all, will accept a report from a recognised bike shop. (or two)

If he has the x-rays it is down to you to make a choice.
If there is no damage, why did he get a new one?

Personally I wouldn't go near a crashed carbon frame.

sleavesley 19 Jul 2014
In reply to Fatboy:

If it's SRAM Red 22 the groupset costs £1150 sterling brand new so you could always swap to another bike.
The RRP is around £3400 but last years model can be had for around £2200 (sterling).
There is the fact it's been crashed, i don't know how bad it was so can't comment, but if concerned I'd try and get a cheapish frame (dolan) and swap everything across.

Haggle him down, he's been paid out so anything is something for him!
OP Fatboy 19 Jul 2014
In reply to Run_Ross_Run: