UKC

Want to get out and sport climb

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 elliot.baker 23 Jul 2014
Hello all

I have been climbing indoors for a couple of years now and would really like to start climbing outdoors. For several reasons I only really want to sport climb on bolted routes.

These reasons being: I feel it is safer for a beginner if the route is well-bolted, as opposed to me learning how to place gear.

It is cheaper: I am under the impression all I really need is quick draws (which I have already), a rope, and some slings and screw-gates for setting up top ropes.

I'm living in Derby so would like to try this type of climbing in the Peak District as it's not too far away.

Would you advise me that the best course of action would be to go on an outdoor climbing course, would this type of course teach me how to set-up top ropes outdoors etc? I have been leading indoors for quite a while so I understand the principles of this part, just not whatever magic happens at the top to let me come down with all my kit!

Also, why do I get the impression that what I am aiming to do is so frowned upon? I feel like it's the safest most accessible form of outdoor climbing, but there is very little information on this type of climbing in guide books or on the internet. Is this because most British climbers prefer trad-climbing and dislike the idea of sport-climbing?

Thanks for any input!

Elliot

Morgan Woods 23 Jul 2014
In reply to elliot.baker:

Everybody has to start somewhere so well done for taking the first steps. Anyhow you may want to reconsider how "safe" sport climbing is given:
- it possibly involves more falling esp. if working a project
- sport belay devices such as gri-gris can be dangerous in the hands of the uninitiated
- getting threading the anchors wrong can be potentially quite serious