UKC

Should I give it all up?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Climb1981 14 Aug 2014
Hello UKC, I am after some advice

I have been climbing for now 8 years, and have done over 20 European alpine trips and been on expeditions to the greater ranges, and climbed all over Asia, Australia, New Zealand and parts of Africa. I also enjoy rock and sport climbing, though not as much as mountaineering. I have completed many things such as the Wainwrights or long distance treks too.

However, the last few months have seen me very disenchanted with climbing. Maybe it's the lack of a good friend and partner. Maybe it is life getting in the way( nearly fully qualified after 10 years of training now), am getting older and maybe want kids. Training for climbing is just a chore now

So am at the point where I am thinking of giving up mountaineering/climbing for good.

I could still go explore many other places to climb, but what motivation do I have? All the beautiful sunrises and sunsets are the same, the suffering is the same. So much time and effort has gone wasted to bad weather days.I will never be able to climb say E7 or Alpine ED but pushing the grades do not attract me as just having a great time in the mountains, but finding that perfect time is getting harder and harder.

My photos have won prizes, and I have featured in articles and magazines as well as written my own. I enjoy the literary side of mountaineering a lot, and devour such books, but again feel that they all tend to be the same after a while.

I have had friends die in the mountains, and have mourned them. I have found excellent friendships though that have lasted till now.

What else remains for me out there?

Maybe this is far too egotistical, but surely someone else has been though this?

Thanks
 The New NickB 14 Aug 2014
In reply to Climb1981: