UKC

Beginner in need of advice

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
shababuddin 31 Dec 2014
Hi,

My end goal is to climb the Matterhorn but as a beginner I am very much aware that a lot of training needs to be done beforehand. Could anyone tell me just what kind of training I'd actually need to do to be ready for the Matterhorn?

Thanks
 Trangia 31 Dec 2014
In reply to shababuddin:

Get very fit and get used to moving fast and safely over difficult ground.

Are you into scrambling? If not I suggest you hook up with some more experienced hill walkers/climbers and start doing lots of scrambles in Scotland, England and N Wales. There isn't much in the UK that replicates Alpine climbing (at least in size), but some of the Classics like N Ridge of Tryfan, Bristly Ridge, Crib Goch, Aonach Eagach and all or parts of the Cuillin Ridge will give you a taster and get you used to exposure.

Once you find you are coping well with these I suggest you go on a couple of Alpine trips, before even thinking about the Matterhorn.

You could consider hiring a guide, although being dragged up when you don't really know what you are doing isn't a great experience.

You would do well to go on a course or courses at a mountain school like Plas y Brenin in N Wales, or Glenmore Lodge in Scotland, or the BMC or similar, who can introduce you to scrambling and also run Alpine courses for beginners.

Although not technically that difficult the easier routes on the Matterhorn are still serious undertakings and the risk of serious injury or death is very real, and route finding is not easy. As with most Alpine peaks the ability to move fast and safely over difficult exposed ground, which comes with practice and experience, is the real key. Too many people underestimate this.

Good luck.

shababuddin 31 Dec 2014
In reply to Trangia:

Thanks, that has cleared up a lot.