UKC

Constructive Criticism Please!

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Jordangask 16 Jan 2015

Hi guys,

So this Summer I went to Chamonix with some friends. This was the 4th week i've been in total but i'm still much of a novice with this trip being the first time we climbed anything harder than PD.

I made a video of a route I did and watching back I can see some things I could have done differently and I was wondering if the community wouldn't mind doing the same and letting me know so I can learn from any mistakes or tips!

I am still learning so I appreciate there will be things I could have done better so please try and stick to the 'constructive' side of criticism!

Video Link: youtube.com/watch?v=rRvBSuVJEWU&

Thanks a lot!

(Criticise the Alpine techniques please - Not the quality of editing )
Post edited at 14:03
 humptydumpty 16 Jan 2015
In reply to Jordangask:

Very brave!
 humptydumpty 16 Jan 2015
In reply to Jordangask:

I know nothing about mountaineering, so this is not criticism:

At the start, you're walking along a ridge about 2m behind your partner and appear to be roped together. What would you do if he slipped?
OP Jordangask 16 Jan 2015
In reply to humptydumpty:

Jump the other side! Or atleast, I think that's what i'm meant to do!
 rallymania 16 Jan 2015
In reply to Jordangask:

haven't watched the whole video yet, but at 57 seconds the person in the black ME kit with white helmet appears to be "made safe" with a very loose dynema sling. if the person slips from there, that sling may break if shock loaded, try and keep slings weighted on the belay stance. in this case make it much shorter or just use the rope to tie onto the belay with

DMM did some interesting videos on shock loading slings that might surprise you...
 planetmarshall 16 Jan 2015
In reply to Jordangask: