UKC

Anyone ever do a coarse with www.expeditionmedicine.co.uk?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Aigen 25 Apr 2015
I am just wondering if anyone has ever done a coarse with expedition medicine? I was thinking of doing the Polar coarse in Norway next year but would like to know if its any good.

http://www.expeditionmedicine.co.uk/index.php/products/event/p-00181.html
 JayPee630 25 Apr 2015
In reply to Aigen:

What level of medical training do you have, and what's your reason for doing the course out of interest?
OP Aigen 25 Apr 2015
In reply to JayPee630:

I am a doctor. I like holidays where I can have a balance of learning and outdoor activity.
 JayPee630 25 Apr 2015
In reply to Aigen:
GP, ED, or something else?

My take on those trips are that they're very much geared towards the holiday element, with a bit of medical stuff thrown in for interest, and looking at the program that's what they seem to cover. (And that's the take of the few people I've known do them - doctors wanting a holiday with some medical interest thrown in.)

If you're keen to work in a remote setting as a HCP there's better courses, but they're less holiday and much harder work.

Think if you want to do a trip with Raleigh or something similar they'd help with that, but not for more commercial work in remote areas.
Post edited at 13:31
OP Aigen 25 Apr 2015
In reply to JayPee630:

I am a surgeon with 3-4 years of ER work when I graduated. Can you post a link to this Raleigh organization please? I have no interested in changing career path to work in remote medicine.
 JayPee630 25 Apr 2015
In reply to Aigen:
Is doing the course just an interest thing then combined with a holiday? Here's a link for some of the roles that Raleigh have for medics https://raleighinternational.org/what-we-do/raleigh-expeditions/aged-25-and...