UKC

What are the best supports or insoles for climbing?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
mountmarcus 05 Jun 2015
Hey Guys I am pretty new to climbing (just started a couple months ago). However does everyone have problems with their feet and ankles at first? Mine are really hurting a throbbing and I dont know if it is just growth pains from my feet and ankles strengthening up or whether I am over doing it and could be developing a injury. My first thought was to buy some sort of support to help like an ankle support or even some insoles or something?
I heard that you can get custom insoles to help align your feet better... however I was then put off by other saying that these things can actually damage your feet as they can make your feet weaker and reliant on the support from the insoles.. which kind of make sense.. but my feet and ankles are really uncomfortable when I climb and I im pretty sure its not normal. Should I see how things go? and maybe buy some cheap cushioning insoles to stop shock maybe? I was thinking on the lines of getting this pair maybe.. http://nuovahealth.co.uk/shop/new-premium-orthotic-sport-insoles (I think I need to get the choice right before I buy because If I buy some dodgy ones they could make things a lot worse for me) what are your thoughts?

LastBoyScout 05 Jun 2015
In reply to mountmarcus:

You may be overdoing it, if you've only just started, as your feet aren't used to the strain of supporting your bodyweight using small holds in very thin shoes.

Back off and give it time to build up.

Innersoles won't help - assuming you could even get them in climbing shoes.

If your shoes aren't a good fit, that also won't help and you could possibly try something a bit stiffer to start with - look for "board lasted" rather than "slip lasted" - assuming anything's still made like that, it's been a while since I bought new shoes.

mountmarcus 05 Jun 2015
In reply to LastBoyScout: