UKC

Contours

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Pommie574 23 Jul 2015
I was wondering if I could get some help from any master navigators out there....

I would say my navigation is up to a high standard however there is one factor that I need to work on, contours.

I would like to know if anyone has any particular methods or exercises that helps with mastering them?

I'm in the hills training twice a month and I have around 30 - 40 days logged so I am no beginner.

Any (constructive) help would be appreciated !!

Ramblin dave 24 Jul 2015
In reply to Pommie574:

The thing I've always found helpful is basically just walking around with the map out looking at contours and comparing them to what you see, and particularly doing this in places where you might not normally look at the contours because you've got loads of other features to work off.

In other words, don't wait until you're out on a trackless open moor to start thinking about contours - think about them when you're following a path across a river next to a wall near a building and so you know exactly where you are and how the map relates to what you're looking at.

This also means more opportunities to practice since you can reasonably do this more or less anywhere outside of the fens...
 kwoods 24 Jul 2015
In reply to Pommie574:

In what way are the contours catching you out? Are you taking bearings between points but discovering en route that the terrain you are crossing isn't letting you do so (like, cliffs or outcrops in the way, for example?)

Contour interpretation is something that seems (for me at least) to click together quickly with practice - that is, going out, looking at slopes and landform and seeing how they are represented on the map. One thing you should notice doing this is how skewed your perspective can become, and also how little you can really see, simply by being on the ground. Hope that helps?
Pommie574 24 Jul 2015
In reply to kwoods: