UKC

Hangboard under 16?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
George B01 28 Oct 2015
Hi there.
This is my first post on UKC so I thought I'd put it in this neck of the forum.

I am currently thinking about buying a beast maker 1000, I have been climbing for 4 years about once or twice a week and I love it. However there is a worry I have. I am under 16 (14 to be precice) and have seen posters in climbing gyms that say over 16s only (or something similar) above their hang boards and explain that hangboards can be dangerous for growth. On the other hand I've seen posts in forums about parents giving their 9 yr old kids hangboards for their birthday. I can't seem to find any useful advice. Do gyms just say no under 16s to cover their back if someone hurts themselves?

Should I get a hangboard?

If I did get a hangboard should I take precautions that others might not. (I understand about warming up etc fairly well)

Any advice is really appreciated and thanks in advance to any replies.

Ps The reason I want a hangboard is because I feel the only thing holding me back from pushing to higher grades is my strength (at the moment I do about F5+ and F6a(French grade) and am pushing F6a+ (F5+ is about a 5b in Font I think)

Thanks again.

Tomtom 29 Oct 2015
In reply to George B01:

Parents can often have a ridiculous habit of living their dreams through their kids, and can tend to push them to crazy extremes, in hope they'll achieve something amazing.
It's a nice idea, who wouldn't want success for their child, but the negative effects seem to be ignored.
Anyhow, before I digress too much, that's basically the reason you see minors with finger boards.

There's a reason why most centres ask for kids to stay off them, and it's a good reason.
You are growing and developing at an alarming rate, and will do into your 20s.