UKC

Recommendations for a belay device

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 JamButty 15 Nov 2015
Hi all - I've used a spring sticht plate since the year dot, or if not I resort to my trusty fig of 8.
The kids have asked what I want for Xmas so it seems a good opportunity to get something a bit more up to date.

I've many years climbing experience so have no problem with the use of the devices- it will be for a mixture of indoor and outdoor climbing, also winter and summer.

I know there will be a range of different views, but what do people generally recommend.

Thanks in advance
Calski 15 Nov 2015
In reply to JamButty:
I like the guide style plates for their flexibility, but then I focus more on mountaineering and prefer big easy mountain routes. If that's what you choose I guess the next question is to choose which one - I think there is some variation in weight and ideal rope thickness.

I also use it at the wall but very much pottering around the 6a/b level.

I personally use the BLack Diamond version and have no complaints and friends are in the same position with the Petzl and DMM offering...
Post edited at 13:55
 Pbob 15 Nov 2015
In reply to JamButty:

I'd get on well with my variable controller. Less prone to sticking than sticht plate. Free running but more friction than ATC's or the like. Mine is about 20 years old. Don't know what the new ones are like. NB I tend to use half ropes.
 MightyStew 15 Nov 2015
In reply to JamButty:

Any guide plate will be perfect. They're all pretty much the same, I like the Reverso 4 because it's the lightest at the moment.
 Fraser 15 Nov 2015
In reply to JamButty:

What's the percentage split of your climbing on, single rope or twin/double?
OP JamButty 15 Nov 2015
In reply to Fraser:

prob more biased to single these days, but still double needed.
 GridNorth 15 Nov 2015
In reply to JamButty: