UKC

saddle woes

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 The Potato 03 Feb 2016

saddle sores - what does it say about my saddle?

Ive just come back from doing some cycle touring in NZ, covered about 1100km in all on mixed surfaces. After about 300km i developed saddle sores - more pressure sores than chafing, directly on my sit bones. This kind of spoiled the trip a bit, tried various creams and stuff with padded shorts but to no avail. Im quite sure Ive got my saddle position and height correct as Ive been riding for many years and love to tweak things.
My usual road saddle is a charge spoon which ive used for up to 100 miles, my MTB saddle is a WTB rocket, and for this I opted for a different one as the Spoon isnt comfortable for me on rough surfaces and the Rocket is a bit old. So I got an OnOne Bignose saddle which is reputedly a good all rounder, albeit narrower than the Spoon at 133mm. I did some shorter rides on it (few 20 milers) with no problems before the trip.
Now what im wondering is - would too narrow a saddle cause these kind of pressure sores, or is it simply the wrong shape or type of saddle for me?
Ive tried measuring my sit bone width which comes out at about 85mm so going from online guides a 130mm saddle should be fine.

Please share any suggestions you may have even if they are purely anecdotal
Post edited at 15:57
 Toby_W 03 Feb 2016
In reply to Pesda potato:

I had a brooks one when I rode ~ 2500 miles down oz and there were a few days where I was left with a red saddle shaped mark on my arse just from being sat grinding into a headwind for 100 miles. We had rest days, short days etc even the best saddle won't cope with long days sat down.

Cheers

Toby
 balmybaldwin 03 Feb 2016