UKC

Saddle sore

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Bellie 08 Aug 2016
I've just started on my MTB after a break. I'm no expert. I did a 28 mile trail round Kielder and had an achy backside by the end, even though it was just a basic trail.

I neglected to put my gel pad shorts on for a start.

Any advice on whether a different saddle would make all the difference, or a suspension seat post. My bike is a Voodoo Bantu, so no rear suspension. The saddle is better than many previous ones I have had on bikes. I'm not quite sure where to start to improve the ride.

Cheers.

MonkeyPuzzle 08 Aug 2016
In reply to Bellie:

There are bits and bobs which could make small improvements in your comfort. Gel shorts I find give the most benefit, but really, unfortunately, the best thing to do is ride as much as you can and your arse will toughen up soon enough!
Bellie 08 Aug 2016
In reply to MonkeyPuzzle:

Big mistake not taking my shorts then. Guess I need to toughen up. At least I'm enjoying it! I'm not far from a couple of the 7 Stanes tracks, and I'm fortunate to have forest trails on my doorstep, so getting into the biking lark.
 balmybaldwin 08 Aug 2016
In reply to Bellie:

Best way to break in your arse is a decent pair of cycling shorts (don't go super cheap), some Chamois crème and lots of shorter rides - lengthening as you go.
 HIGHTOWER 08 Aug 2016
In reply to Bellie:

If you've had a break then give it a few rides to get back used to it. I've had a few months away from my bike and the first few rides back were quite uncomfortable, but it's soon getting better.
 The Potato 08 Aug 2016
In reply to Bellie:

yep regardless of what you wear it will be sore if you havent ridden in a while.