UKC

All-rounder Ropes

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 TomAlford 28 Aug 2016

This may sound a bit cheapskate but hey ho.

I'm looking to replace my tatty, fluffy 40m Edelrid sport rope that I've had since I first started out, but I'm a bit overwhelmed by choice, and I've got to admit that rope (along with rubber compounds) are definitely my weakest areas of kit knowledge. I'm looking for something that I can sport with, use as a half for trad, and also use for summer alpinism, which I know will be compromising in some areas but being a student I can't afford a roster of ropes! There was a promising looking Edelrid (Corbie I think) on sale recently that was triple rated, but I understand top-roping for working routes on this sort is a bit of a death-wish? Or is that simply not true?

Also, 60m?

Would really appreciate any advice or recommendations!
Post edited at 22:42
In reply to TomAlford: What ropes do your climbing partners have?

If you're skint then buying super skinny triple-rated ropes is probably a luxury.

If you're going to climb indoors or dog sport routes more than once in a blue moon, 9.4mm or thicker single is the sensible option. However, if those you normally climb with already have ropes you can use much of the time, a 60+metre skinny single might work out great as you can save it just for the longest and hardest pitches outdoors.

Equally, if you're going to climb trad you'll want a reasonably matched pair so either that is a major investment for two ropes or might you'll want to go one each with a partner.

Whatever other ropes I have, these days I ALWAYS have a short (30-40m) cheap single that I use at the wall and whenever possible outdoors so that my more expensive ropes are kept for when they are actually needed.

OP TomAlford 29 Aug 2016
In reply to The Ex-Engineer: