UKC

How big is a bong?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 humptydumpty 09 Sep 2016
I just read a route description that suggests bringing a bong "just in case". I've no experience pegging, but a quick google suggests that mid-size camalots might cover the same range as a bong; does this sound likely?
 Plungeman 09 Sep 2016
In reply to humptydumpty:

How sure are you that the author's talking about climbing gear?

I'll ask my friend, he has a lot of bongs and the other night he was telling me how his girlfriend had suggested trying pegging. I tried to explain about the trad ethic in this country but he didn't understand.
 winhill 09 Sep 2016

google demijohn bong.
 Lemony 09 Sep 2016

I wouldn't worry, if my email is to be believed there's One Simple Step to Enlarge your Bong if needed.
 ianstevens 09 Sep 2016
In reply to winhill:

Do not google "pegging".
 flaneur 09 Sep 2016

Depends if it is a 2", 3", 4" or 6" bong.

Scarab9 09 Sep 2016

most of us make do with giggling at 'crack' and 'nuts' and the odd 'fist jam' when climbing, but youv'e taken climbing innuendo bingo to whole new levels! bravo!
OP humptydumpty 09 Sep 2016
In reply to flaneur:

Very helpful info - thanks! Would be good if the topo actually mentioned the bong size. It does suggest a "thick 'V'" as an alternative, but I guess that would depend on font size!
 flaneur 09 Sep 2016

Unfortunately it's one of those useless descriptions like "take a large cam" (note to guidebook authors: do you mean 3" or 7"?) .

A large angle piton is 1-2", so the guidebook mostly likely means green to gold camalot size.
 Bootrock 09 Sep 2016

I think we have different definitions of pegging. Can you elaborate?
 Rick Graham 09 Sep 2016
In reply to flaneur:

Did some bongs not go in longways? So a 7 or 8 inch option?

After getting scared on the Hollow Flakes on Salathe Wall, I was advised back in the Valley that it was common practice to use a bong sideways as a nut for pro.