UKC

Noob - any good outdoor bouldering spots near london

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Francescos 11 Nov 2016
Hello

Title kind of says it all..

I've been bouldering for a couple of months now, probably a bad time for me to start looking for places to climb outdoors as it's getting colder now... But, does anyone have any recommendations near London? ( I live in North West London) I can hop on the train for an hour or two if necessary. Also can drive.

Not sure about the 5a 5b 5b+ grades but I think I'm around a consistent v3/4 level. I think that's like a 6a or something maybe? Is it too soon for me to start climbing outdoors, should I get better and wait a while longer? I watch a lot of videos of people climbing outdoors and it just looks so much fun!

I hope to get into multi pitch climbing some time soon ish. Actually, just a thought while writing this: Being the noob that I am, is it better at my level to look for out door bouldering locations or normal rope climbing locations, Or does it not matter?

On a side note, will my indoor bouldering shoes be suitable for outdoor climbing? Or will I have to get a new pair?

Thanks in advance - any replies much appreciated!
Removed User 11 Nov 2016
In reply to Francescos:
Hi

Is it too soon to start climbing outdoors - No I would recommend starting as soon as possible. Starting indoors is like learning to play football by going to a club's training sessions and dribbling round cones before you have your first kick-around in the park.

Grades - the V grade in London walls is so debased as to have become utterly meaningless just ignore it.

I'd suggest the peak district as a destination.

The same shoes should be fine but a good scrub under a tap to get the chalk off will help and take something to clean shoes between goes - and use it.

Post edited at 14:45
 CurlyStevo 11 Nov 2016
In reply to Francescos: