UKC

Please critique my top rope solo setup...

Please Register as a New User in order to reply to this topic.
 saturn 27 Apr 2024

I'm quite new to climbing and am looking for advice on how to improve my rudimentary understanding of solo top rope—   

1) Is anchoring to a tree with a figure 8 knot OK? If not, then why not?

2) What's the difference between a GriGri and a microtraxion?

3) I was thinking of getting a microtraxion, will this alone be adequete to ensure my safety if I fall? Have they ever been known to fail?

4) Do microtraxions do a good job of feeding the rope through as I climb or will I have to use other methods to do that?

That's all for now thanks.

Hooo 27 Apr 2024
In reply to saturn:

> I'm quite new to climbing and am looking for advice on how to improve my rudimentary understanding of solo top rope—   

Can I be the first to say, don't!

Get confident at climbing with a partner before you even consider rope solo. There are so many things that you won't even have thought of, and you do not want to be finding out the hard way.

Luke90 27 Apr 2024
In reply to saturn:

Firstly, if you're new to climbing, roped solo probably isn't the best way to start. It's an option and I'm sure other people have done it, but you'd really be better off looking to meet up with some other climbers who can help you get started. Climbing Facebook groups for your local area could be useful, or the lifts and partners section on here. Not everyone will want to go out with a beginner but there are a lot of helpful people in climbing who enjoy sharing skills.