UKC

Optimus,Primus,or MSR(mountain Safety Reasearch)?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Tim D 16 Dec 2001
I know that MSR(Mountain Safety Reasearch),are supposed to be quite good.Does any body have any experiance with Optimus and Primus stoves?
andy r 16 Dec 2001
In reply to Tim D:
sorry dont have any experience with any of those stoves, however, im sure that Optimus Primus was the big lorry bloke in the Transformers (robots in disguise).
 sutty 16 Dec 2001
In reply to andy r:
What a load of tripe you talk, Optimus Primus was one of the senators in Up Pompeii,any fulm buff thinks that.

I am happy to say I have no experience of any modern stoves being a luddite who has an optimus half pint paraffin stove bought before Andy was born. Occasionaly leaky and smelly (and also possibly heavier than modern stoves) but until I get back to climbing alpine peaks it will do me.
That means they last for ever, take your pick.
ICE 'B' 18 Dec 2001
In reply to sutty: Is it the one built into its own case? That takes me back. I remember a bivvy when I was aged 11, on somewhere called Dove Cragg in a small cave, the Leader had one, was I impressed, at that age it seemed almost magical in its ability to boil water that quick. Now use a MSR gas stove for the UK summer or campsite, In winter I have to have reliability and speed and bomb proof so I take my MSR XGK stove. Which are on sale at field and trek at the mo for a good price.
P.S. Petrol stinks, a fact that was brought home to me when I didn't store my fuel bottle properly and it leaked.
 sutty 18 Dec 2001
In reply to ICE 'B':
The stove I have is a paraffin one, Optimus 96 which weighs 600g with windshield, prickers,lighting paste,(although that may be useless now).
The one in a fold down case was a Svea I think, lift lid, drop down front, prime and go. That was petrol and very light.