UKC

Boulder Chipping London

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 eschatonto 17 Apr 2020

This article is about Chipping - not about outdoor climbing in these crazy times. Please stay on topic. Extensive chipping has been found on the boulder located at Mabley Green, London E9. The boulder and it’s counterpart in Shoreditch Park N1 have been in situ since 2008 and, until now, been free from damage. Full disclosure - I am an Artist and a Climber, and the boulders were transported and installed by me. They are Climbable Artworks. Each boulder has many established, quality problems ranging from V2 upto V8 (and above?). Several of the problems at Mabley Green have now been downgraded. New holds have been added and existing holds enlarged. This is Not Ok. If you use the boulders please respect them. If you encounter anyone chipping please ask them to stop - this is vandalism.

thanks, John Frankland.

In reply to eschatonto:

Thanks for posting, John. I’m totally with you on this. These boulders are amazing.

Tom Valentine 17 Apr 2020
In reply to I like climbing:

I can understand why you are upset.

If I had built a wall then someone came along and painted all over it I'd be annoyed too. Whoever it was and whatever he'd painted.

OP eschatonto 17 Apr 2020
In reply to I like climbing:

Thanks ILC.. 

OP eschatonto 17 Apr 2020
In reply to Tom Valentine:

Hi Tom - it’s funny in a way - I always thought they were ‘vandal proof’ sculptures.. they can take a bit of graffiti - it fades, but I didn’t think about chipping.. 

John

In reply to eschatonto:

I suppose there's artistic chipping and other types- not sure where hold chipping comes into it. I can remember a bit of a furore a few years ago when Simon Armitage had one of his poems "chipped" into a crag somewhere in West Yorkshire.

mrphilipoldham 17 Apr 2020

Would the be the one at Cow's Mouth Quarry?

Rob Parsons 17 Apr 2020
In reply to eschatonto: