UKC

Bowline vs Figure of 8 Tie-in Knot

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Anonymous 23 Sep 2004
Someone I was climbing with recently noticed that I had tied into the rope using a bowline with a triple fishermans stopper.

He commented on this and said something along the lines of "don't you think that a bit of a dangerous knot to tie-in with? I'd be happier if you used a figure of 8".

So I didn't argue, the other guy was a more experienced climber than me so for his piece of mind more than anything, I re-tied-in with a fig8.

Is that really true though, about a bowline being unsafe to tie-in with?

I've always used it for tying in, when I was a beginner I was told either were good tie in knots, I prefer a bowline as it's quicker to tie and easier to undo after it been loaded, so that's what I've used ever since.

Tom
tubengen 23 Sep 2004
In reply to Anonymous:

I use a double bowline and whatever is left tie a fishermans, 3,4 stopper.

For me it is ideal because i'm heavy and it is a bitch to undo an 8 after it has been fallen on a couple of times.

The bowline is fine, I tie it throught the waist band and leg loop with no slack so the loop of the bowline doesn't ride over the stopper
Iain Ridgway 23 Sep 2004
In reply to tubengen: Never really had a problem with fig. 8s, I weigh 13+ stone, and just break the back of the knot, always opens fine.

Not overly keane on bowlines, they just dont look as sturdy, and I also think a figure of 8 screams at you when its wrong.
Bored 23 Sep 2004
In reply to Iain Ridgway:
>
> Not overly keane on bowlines, they just dont look as sturdy

great argument ! bowlines are fine if done as stated above with a stoper at the knot. i know it's annoying when people say this but try a search because there have been some big debates on this in the past

Iain Ridgway 23 Sep 2004